jaeeditor.blogg.se

Lucia di lammermoor met opera review
Lucia di lammermoor met opera review








The other great scene is the actual wedding to the rich lord. Lucia is already in love and secretly engaged to Edgardo (Piotr Beczała), Enrico’s enemy. The first is a confrontation between Lucia and her brother Enrico (Mariusz Kwiecień) who is in serious financial trouble and only his sister Lucia can save the day by marrying a rich lord. The opera is a showcase for all the great bel canto singers but there are other scenes which are as dramatic and as exciting. Mr De Mille”) but she acts without histrionics though there was a moment when I thought she was going to do a Loie Fuller with her bloodied veil.

lucia di lammermoor met opera review

She has been given a winding staircase for her big mad scene (“I am ready for my close-up. Lucia, you will remember, murders her husband on their wedding day, the ultimate consummation.Īnna Netrebko’s performance as Lucia is notable for its vulnerability and understatement.

lucia di lammermoor met opera review

The story has been updated from 1700 to 1850. Mary Zimmerman’s excellent production, designed by Daniel Ostling and conducted by Marco Armiliato, was seen at The Met in 2009.

lucia di lammermoor met opera review

There are many who think Lucia Di Lammermoor is his masterpiece. I loved the intervals with the guy from The Mummy Returns donning the chunky gold chain chatting away.Įven with the setting is not to everyone’s liking, I really enjoyed it and the singing, was so powerful from Nadine and Javier, it had me teary, which has only ever happened with Javier playing Edgardo.Gaetano Donizetti’s opera, an adaptaton of Sir Walter Scott’s hugely popular novel, premièred in Naples in 1835. I have to honestly say, the experience and cost made the theatre visit well worth it. My friends asked how it was and I said, imagine watching Maria La Del Barrio/ Narcos or walking round East LA listening to Lucia lol. With Nadine, she was equally as fantastic but she had her own style and uniqueness but I have never seen close ups from onstage, so really saw the faces and real emotions. Had seen Javier and Artur in a Lucia a few years back with Lisette Operesa, and they were an awesome trio. First time seeing an opera via a theatre, the first 5 mins I hated it, really couldn’t bend my head round as I have seen many Lucia’s and they were getting more and more updated settings but after a few minutes, I appreciated the visuals but the sound was spectacular.










Lucia di lammermoor met opera review